why/how are you a bluegrass fan?

In my last semester of college I am studying “fan culture”-I have a question for all of you. Why are you a bluegrass fan and what is it about bluegrass festivals that keep you coming back for more? how are you a bluegrass fan? what is your interaction with other bluegrass fans/musicians? do you play an instrument, what/why? what is historically significant about bluegrass and what do the festivals represent for the genre? what about the people you meet time and time again at these festivals, what significance do those relationships hold in your life?..

Lets see, get deep, well for me that’s easy. :wave :flower

I am a fan of bluegrass because well for one it’s great music! And fer 2 it has this deep feel of tradition, history and roots. I feel connected.

The same for the fest. I personally feel connected to everyone while at the fest. I feel free to express myself through dance and song, movement…4 days to play when your an adult is like brain candy…4 beautiful days and nights of pure fun…nothing to do but boogie.

Nature plays a huge part, just being outside under the stars, feeling the crisp air on your cheecks and the music fill the air. It just feels so perfect, even in the rain.

Fest is all encumpasing.Did I spell that wrong, sorry. It fills my soul and stays there for a long while. Makes me feel a part of something huge, makes me feel alive. :medal

what she said…

and
there is a purity to acoustic music
be it bluegrass or classical or other acoustic music
if and when the power grid shuts down
the music will be alive, here and in the heavens…

and it’s the blues, not he delta or chicago blues, but mountain people blues
with banjos and mandolins rippin’
there’s an upbeat, high energy feeling
even though the lyrics might be cryin’
usually great 3 part harmonies on vocals with that “high and lonesome” sound
the music might be slow 4/4 or 3/4 time
or it might be and instrumental close to light speed