Pre-Festival Camping Etiquette

Hi everyone! I’m a newbie to the festival and absolutely cannot wait for June to come around! I must say that this forum has made me even more excited than I already was, everyone just seems so nice!

We’re arriving in Telluride on Saturday the 11th and we have Town Park camping (wahoo!)… I know that Saturday is the first day that we can set up camp, but I do have a question… would it be okay for us to come and set up our camp on Saturday and then leave Sunday to road trip to Arizona for 2 days using our camp spot (tent and shelter) to reserve our spot for the festival? Not sure what the etiquette is around that? Any advice from you all would be greatly appreciated! :slight_smile:

You will be just fine leaving your stuff, just make sure it us ready for wind and weather. See you there!

Why would anyone want to leave TP for Az?!? :huh Pre-Fest is most entertaining! Be sure it’s staked down.

Thanks for the advice… we’re going to head to the Grand Canyon for 2 days, neither of us have ever been and we figured it was such a short ride (well, considering we’re usually a flight away), we may as well! I have a feeling that 2 day trip may be knocked down to 1 day… I’ve read some stories about pre-fest that sound awesome!

We’ll definitely stake it well and make sure it’s solid… just want to make sure we don’t step on any toes if we leave it!

Thanks again!

In years past we’ve popped out for some overnight trips to Moab, 4-corners, etc. Even if your camp blows over, someone will probably stake it back in for ya. :wave

Matt

If you’ve never been to Arches or Canyonlands, I’d suggest looking at Moab if you only have a couple days to get away. I forgot exactly, but it’s like a good 5-6 hours to GC from Telluride vs. 2:30 hours to Moab.