Meal and Food Suggestions for Town Park Campers

Hey Festivarians, I am relatively new to the Festival (3rd year) but am a TownPark Virgin. Of course, I want to do it up in style, and I love to cook. Anyone out there have suggestions on good meals to prepare before hand and cook in-camp, as well as some thoughts on the best cooking methods? I see that steak and bacon are a must (naturally), but my girlfriend is a veggie so I need a few more ideas. What is your best method for keeping stuff cold for multiple days.

Thanks for the ideas and suggestions!!

Coolers and ice. Mac and Cheese is a good veggie option (Until Hooch puts bacon in it, anyway) that wouldn’t be too difficult to make. Not that kraft crap, but real mac and cheese.

I take it they sell ice at Town Park? Is it pretty expensive?

plan on getting fresh veggies locally. there is a farmers market, not sure when? someone will chime in. there are also 2 markets in town. it’s good to support the local economy, that’s why they bring us back each year.

ice is $3 for a 6Lb bag sold in camp usually they start selling it Tuesday pre-fest. you can get ice from the markets and liquor stores also, prices are comparable.

In my own defense I give any vegetarian upwards of 30 seconds to grab food before I dump bacon in it!

And in non-bacon related news: I once pre-made and froze black beans and yellow rice. Reheats nice and is yummy and does not require as much chilling power to stay good.

Yes, they sell ice in Town Park starting on Monday after land rush (or maybe Sunday). Not too price inflated. You can also “tip” kids with wagons to fetch some for you.

Okay so maybe Tuesday. Just ignore me.

A cold apple and peanut butter my fav, pears and swiss crackers and grapes.
Orange salad, yummy. :medal

So true Rick! Please try to buy fresh and local when you can. It just taste better. :medal