buying a Mando

Hi,
I have never played Mandolin and just need some advise on buying one. I saw on Craigslist a Johnson F model for $200, any thoughts. I am just a beginner so I don’t want to spend thousands, but want something that will last me a few years while I am getting better and see if it sticks.
Thanks for any advice you can give me.
Beth :flower

i think that’s a pretty good price for that model, however, if it’s something to beat on that you’re looking for, you can find an ok mandolin for less than that. Even brand new mandolins that aren’t so bad are less than $200. i’m no expert, as i’m a beginner as well, but i got a washburn A model (retails at 300, but a washburn B-stock retailer off ebay sells em’ cheap), for like 100 (priceless now that I’ve got Sammy’s AND Chris’s signature), and it sounds really good. My instructor was amazed at how well it stays in tune even after a long lesson or two. anyway, this isn’t much help i know, but the moral is, if you’re as broke as me, you can find one for less than that.

Yeah, I finally bought me a Mandolin, It’s a Kentucky FM140S (I think) I am really excited and have been practicing, practicing, practicing. I have one question, which seems a little foolish, but as a newbie I have no idea. I have seen several G chords, one is really hard, a four finger one and the others are a little easier. So my question is which G chord should I be playing and how do I know what Chord they want? Same goes for the D and C chords. Thanks for any info.
I did get the Andy Statman book, Beginner Bluegrass Mandolin, Which so far seems pretty good. Well I still am on the first page of chords.
Beth

Congrats on the purchase!
I’m no expert either, but I wish that I never would of learned the 3 finger version of D. If I could go back I would of practiced 4 finger G to 4 finger D for hours… then incorporated the 3 finger C and the 3 finger F.